Category Archives: Germany

Review: THE CLEANER by Elisabeth Herrmann

I’m prepared to wager a small sum that whoever wrote back cover blurb hasn’t actually read THE CLEANER. Or maybe I’d lose my bet on a technicality because they did read the book but thought it was too difficult to … Continue reading

Posted in book review, Elisabeth Herrmann, Germany | 14 Comments

Review: THE TRAP by Melanie Raabe

Of the many superlative-laden review snippets that adorn THE TRAP’s page at its local publisher’s website is this one A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. Alas I’ve given up reading book publicity material prior … Continue reading

Posted in book review, Germany, Melanie Raabe | 7 Comments

Review: SNOW WHITE MUST DIE by Nele Neuhaus

SNOW WHITE MUST DIE has a lot of plot. The book opens with the release of Tobias Sartorius from prison. He completed a 10-year sentence for the murder of two teenage girls (it was never made clear but I assume the … Continue reading

Posted in book review, Germany, Nele Neuhaus | 7 Comments

Review: THE HANGMAN’S DAUGHTER by Oliver Pötzsch

THE HANGMAN’S DAUGHTER starts with great promise but ultimately failed to deliver on almost every one of my personal “what makes a book stand out” yardsticks. There’s a nicely thought provoking (if incredibly violent) prologue in which a young boy … Continue reading

Posted in book review, Germany, Oliver Pötzsch | 6 Comments

Review: A Trace of Smoke by Rebecca Cantrell

I’ve had Rebecca Cantrell’s A Trace of Smoke on my shelves forever (well, since Norman told me to get it anyway) but every time my eye rested on the exquisite cover I thought “oh no not another book about bloody … Continue reading

Posted in book review, Germany, Rebecca Cantrell | 13 Comments

A Review of a kind: If the Dead Rise Not by Philip Kerr

The first two-thirds of If the Dead Rise Not is set in Berlin in 1934. Hitler’s National Socialist Party has been in power for 18 months which made Bernie Gunther’s life as a homicide detective untenable because he is a … Continue reading

Posted in Audio Book Challenge 2010, book review, Cuba, Germany, Philip Kerr | 6 Comments